470 Legends' Trophy - who is coming ...


Sailors competing in the 470 Legends' Trophy are a who's who of 470 sailors World and Olympic Champions.

Teams from all over the world -  Australia, Brazil, Canada, Fance, Great Britain, Greece, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, New Zealand, Ukraine and USA - will join the class and other World and Olympic Champions in a showcase of past and current 470 talent at the 470 Legends' Trophy.

To name a few of the teams who have already confirmed their participation:

470 Women
Canada - Judy Lugar and Morag MacLean who won the 1986 World Championships.

USA - JJ Fetter (formerly Isler) and hew crew Pamela Healy  who won the 1991 470 World Championships and a bronze at the 1992 Olympics wll compete. Fetter went on to compete at the 2000 Olympic Games with Pease Glaser and won a silver medal.

New Zealand - Reigning Olympic Champions, Jo Aleh and Polly Powrie will also be racing.

470 Men
Australia - Nathan Wilmot and Malcolm Page won Olymipc Gold at the 2008 Olympics, with Page then going onto secure a follow-up gold medal at the 2012 Olympics.

Italy - Gabrio Zandona and Andrea Trani won the 2003 470 World Champinships.

New Zealand - Peter Nicholas and Hamish Wilcox will be one of several teams from New Zealand. Nicholas was the 2002 470 World Champion sailing with Simon Cooke. Whilst Wilcox was a three-time World Champion in 1981, 1983 and 1984 with David Barnes.

More Announcements coming soon ....

Image: Reigning 470 Women Olympic Champions Jo Aleh/Polly Powrie (NZL) © Onedition


22/11/2012 15:50


For all the latest news sign up here with your email address: