470 Champions to rock the Legends' Trophy


In 2009, the French 470 Class Association invited former French 470 champions to once again climb aboard a 470, on boats lent by active sailors, for a few convivial races on the reservoir at Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines, near Paris. The “Legends Trophy” concept was born.

As part of the 470 50th anniversary celebrations, the hosting club Société des Régates Rochelaises, the 470 Internationale and the French 470 Association decided to organise the 470 “Legends' Trophy”, which will be held on Sunday 4 August 2013 at La Rochelle. It will reunite 30 crews, from amongst the world’s best 470 sailors over the last 50 years, for a series of short races that spectators will be able to watch from the shore. The boats will be made available by the organisers.

Participation in the Legends' Trophy is reserved for former Olympic and World Champions and a few other famous sailors. Numerous champions have already declared their interest to participate in this event, including:

- Marc Bouët & Michel Christ (France), European Champions in 1969 (Marc was also European Champion in 1968 and 1974).
- Hervé & Yves Carré (France), first World Champions in 1970
- Tom & Wouter van Essen (Holland), World Champions in 1971
- Philippe & Hubert Follenfant (France), quadruple Vice-world Champions in 1970, 1971, 1972 and 1975
- Marc Laurent & Roger Surmin (France) World Champions in 1975
- David Ullmann & Tom Linskey (USA), triple World Champions 1977, 1978 and 1980
- Nobuhiro & Tomoaki Tsutsumi (Japan), World Champions in 1979
- Eduardo Penido & Marco Suares (Brazil), Olympic Champions in 1980
- Christine Briand & Claire Fountaine (France), IYRU Women World Champions in 1983
- Karen & Gail Johnson (Canada), first women World Champions in 1985
- Judy Lugar & Morag Champy Mc Lean (Canada), gold medallists at the women’s World Cup in 1986
- Allison Jolly & Lynne Jewell (USA), Olympic Champions in 1988
- Thierry Péponnet & Luc Pillot (France), Olympic Champions in 1988, World champions in 1986 and bronze medallists at the Games in 1984
- Jennifer J. Isler Fetter & Pamela Healy (USA), World Champions in 1991 and bronze medallists at the Games in 1992 (Jennifer was also IYRU Women’s World Champion 1986 and silver medallist at the Games in 2000)
- Jan & Ben Kouwenhoven (Holland), double World Champions in 1994 and 1996
- Jenny Armstrong & Belinda Stowell (Australia), Olympic Champions in 2000 and gold medallist at the ISAF World Games in 2002
- Gabrio Zandona & Andrea Trani (Italy), ISAF World Champions in 2003
- Nathan Wilmot & Malcolm Page (Australia), Olympic Champions in 2008 and triple World Champions in 2004, 2005 and 2007 (Malcolm was also Olympic Champion in 2012 and triple World Champion in 2010, 2011 and 2012)
- Jo Aleh & Olivia Powrie (New Zealand), Olympic Champions in 2012

Image: 2008 Olympic Champions - Nathan Wilmot/Malcolm Page (AUS) © Clive Mason/Getty Images

And also:
- Hamish Willcox (New Zealand), triple World Champion in 1981, 1983 and 1984
- Florence Lebrun (France), IYRU Women World Champion in 1987
- Igor Matviienko (Ukraine), Olympic Champion in 1996 and World Champion in 2001; Gildas Philippe (France), World Champion in 1998
- Tom King (Australia), Olympic Champion in 2000
- Sofia Bekatorou (Greece), Olympic Champion in 2004 and quadruple World Champion in 2000, 2001, 2002 and 2003;
- Simon Cooke (New -Zealand), World Champion in 2002
- Peter Nicholas (New Zealand), World Champion in 2002
- Joe Glanfield (Great Britain), double Olympic medallist in 2004 and 2008
- Lobke Berkhout (Netherlands), World Champion in 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010

Image: 1988 Olympic Champions - Allison Jolly/Lynne Jewell (USA) © Cory Sertl

The Notice of Race and Online Entry will soonbe published on the International 470 Class Association website and 50th Anniversary website.

Important note for all sailors participating in the other 470 events being held at La Rochelle this summer.

The Legends' Trophy is designed to reunite in a friendly competition all generations of sailors who have won 470 Olympic or World titles. It will thus be a showcase for our champions in a sporting spirit, generating a positive image for the younger sailors, allied with respect for the past generations. In a spirit of comradeship, the crews that will be present at La Rochelle and participating in the various other competitions are invited to make their boats available to the organisers for the day of 4th August. If you are willing to lend us your boat for the Legends' Trophy, please contact us at 50years@470.org

Top Image: 2002 470 World Champions - Simon Cooke/Peter Nicholas (NZL)

Source: Robert Austin


26/2/2013 15:52


For all the latest news sign up here with your email address: